My Pride

To be reserved for qualities you have earned
Not random tokens assigned at birth.
I am not PROUD to be British, i fail to see the value of the smudged label.
I am PROUD that I am enlightened and realise nationality is a tool used to divide us all.
I am not PROUD that I was born female, this was a genetic coin flip.
I am PROUD of my choices in life, the ones I feel have made me a good woman.
I am not PROUD of my hereditary intelligence,
I am PROUD of how I use it to gain wisdom and leap across the camouflaged quicksand.
I am not PROUD of the chemical imbalances in my brain,
I am PROUD to have lived through the dark grey haze and stake it with a rainbow ice pick.


Leave a Reply

